My friend, Beth over at http://www.theangelforever.com/ always posts a Dear Kid Saturday post as started at http://www.cutestkidever.org.  I would totally do a button for the latter if I can figure out how!  Anyhow, I would like to start partaking in this ritual to keep some memories alive!!

Dear Jenna,

This past Monday you started second grade.  I don’t know how you managed to turn 7 years old this summer already, but you did!  I keep asking you to slow down and I know you would if you could to stay small enough to curl up in my lap all the time.  I love our night time cuddles on my pillow so we can talk about your day.  I love even more how you miss it if it looks like I am not going to do it that night.

This Tuesday, one day into school, you promptly got sick!  For days (until Saturday) you ran a pretty high fever (going up to 104.8 more than once) and had a bit of a sore throat.  After two trips to the Doctor I was assured it was just a virus.  It was a stressful week for you as well as for Mama since I was so worried about you.

Now that you are feeling better we have plans to enjoy the rest of the Holiday weekend.  Tomorrow is going to be a picnic at Nana’s house for the Labor Day holiday.  We will then come home, have a bath, decide on lunches for the week, make sure your back pack and clothes are ready for Tuesday because we will be busy on Monday.  As we have been trying to do all summer, we are heading to Dorney Park.  We were going on Thursday but your illness stopped our plans.  We will arrive soon after they open at 10am and we will try to leave by 5:00 so we can get home and washed up and ready for bed for a 4 day school week.  I am so happy we get to take you because if there is any place in the world that you get the most out of a trip it is a place with rides.  I call you my “wild woman” because the higher, faster and crazier the ride the more you love it.  I don’t know where you get the thrill seeker from.  It is not from mama, that is for sure.  I am glad so much about life does not scare you and that you take life by the horns and ride it with all your might.  I pray that you live the rest of your life in such a way so you never have regrets.

Jenna Bee, I love you more than you can know.

Love, Mama

